The Guianas Revealed

The lesser-visited countries in the north-east corner of South America share the Caribbean coastline with dense rainforest interiors, vast savannahs, Amerindian villages, great rivers and dramatic waterfalls. Whilst Guyana (formerly British Guiana) and Suriname (formerly a Dutch colony) are both independent, French Guiana (Guyane) is an overseas department of France which once had an infamous penal colony on Devil’s Island. These three countries are just beginning to be discovered by adventurous travellers, wherever you go, expect to see superb wildlife.



  • Georgetown
  • Kaieteur Falls
  • Pristine Rainforest
  • Fantastic Wildlife
  • Amerindian Villages



  • Paramaribo
  • Dutch influences
  • Maroon villages
  • Rainforests and Rivers
  • Diverse Wildlife


French Guiana

  • Cayenne
  • Kourou Space Centre
  • Devil’s Island
  • St-Laurent-du-Maroni
  • French influences


Please contact our partners at South America Revealed for travel to other destinations in Latin America including Machu Picchu, the Amazon, Patagonia, the Falklands and Antarctica.

Current times in the Guianas:


Georgetown, Guyana          Paramaribo, Suriname            Cayenne, French Guiana